Historic and Scenic Deadwood Ranch
Deadwood Ranch was 1st “homesteaded” by Winfield Swearingen, his wife Fannie LaFollett and son Jessie in 1886. The Swearingen’s moved from Deadwood, South Dakota, where Winfield was the “peacekeeper” at his brother Al Swearingen’s notorious “Gem Theater”.
Deadwood Ranch consists of 2 contiguous parcels totaling approximately 400 acres. The 2 log cabins Winfield Swearingen constructed in 1886 and where they lived, have been fully restored and are located on the ranch.
Deadwood Ranch: A Rich History & Amazing Surroundings
Deadwood Ranch holds many wonders and features that make it a completely unique location. The area is beautiful and holds a long legacy due to both the location and the people who founded the location. It has received several large improvements including the building of a new road and bridge leading into the Ranch.Learn More
The Swearingen’s had been in Deadwood, South Dakota where Winfield was the bartender and “peace keeper” of Al Swearingen’s saloon called the Gem Theater.
The Akuashi herd is known for its extraordinary healthy beef, which is high in oleic acid and can lead to lower cholesterol, the prevention of coronary heart disease, and weight loss.
Several improvements have been made to the infrastructure of Deadwood Ranch. These include the building of a bridge and road to access the historic cabins.
The Aspen/Basalt Area
The Aspen area was originally discovered by the Ute Indians and called “Shining Mountains”. The first silver miners arrived in the Roaring Fork Valley in the summer of 1879.